Alternate Headgear to the Colander

Discuss ways to spread the Word and bring His Noodly Appendage to everybody.

Moderator: All Things Mods

DMan
Conchigliette Convert

Alternate Headgear to the Colander

Postby DMan » Thu Jun 16, 2016 3:37 pm

I am a resident of North Carolina, and I have been in a discussion with the state DMV over my attempt to take a license photo with the colander. Even after providing all the information I was able to collect from venganza.org, I was finally provided a copy of the DMV policy which states: Religious Headgear Policy DMV policy permits customers to be photographed in a religious head covering that is worn on a daily basis, and at any time that the customer is in public, as part of their sincerely held religious beliefs of a religion. The head covering may not cover any part of the face. This exception does not apply to non-clothing objects that are not regularly or customarily worn as part of a religious practice.

I contacted my state ACLU over a month ago and I have not heard anything, I am getting frustrated. In my opinion, the state bureaucrats are manipulating the state policy to specifically discriminate against Pastafarians, but what can I do? My idea is for the creation of an alternate headgear that fits the description of this state's policy and may help in other states as well. Why not create a ballcap or a "boonie" hat (it kind of looks like a Spaghetti Monster already!) that has an appropriate insignia or picture and claim that hat as our alternate headgear? It would be something that could be easily worn all day and in public and would provide a much stronger legal argument---or so I believe.

I would like to build a consensus on the alternate hat idea so maybe the website could be modified and some of these hats could be designed. Please give feedback/ideas otherwise I am going to be forced to bend to the state's religious discrimination in another month or so....

ET, the Extra Terrestrial
Privvy Counselor